Detweiler Training & Seminars
Be Fit for Diversity! deutsch dotted_line english dotted_linecontactdotted_linesitemapdotted_lineprint
Layoutbild

Balance

How much Diversity can an organisation bear?

One of the decisive factors in the success of any diversity oriented organisational and resource development is the balance between diversity and conformity. Characteristics of diversity include individuality, creativity and being different. Some characteristics of conformity are uniformity and adaptation.

An organisation that overemphasizes diversity may find, that it damages its cohesiveness, and could result - in the extreme - in chaos and collapse. Everyone would do, what he/she wants. On the other hand, if conformity dominates in an organisation, uniqueness and its inherent potential for innovation will be repressed which has a negative impact as well.

In a successful diversity policy, there is a healthy tension, a dynamic balance, between these two. How much individuality should be allowed, so that the system does not break down, yet how far should the demand to conform go, so that individuality does not suffer?

This is the question that arises for civil servants in the public sector, who not only have to act as a service provider to citizens but also represent state authority. This challenge is faced in the corporate world as well. Knowing about this dynamic balance has a positive impact on corporate culture.

DeT&S cultivates an understanding for this balance, that provides orientation and confidence in decision-making and action. We work out where a minimum of conformity is required to provide the essential cohesiveness in the organization, and where diversity can thrive in order to drive the organization forward.

 
Ask your questions!

Layoutbild

© 2002 – 2016     Dr. Mitra Detweiler     Detweiler Training & Seminars     Platanenweg 9     D - 63303 Dreieich

Detweiler Training & Seminars
Fit für Vielfalt! deutsch dotted_line english dotted_lineKontaktdotted_linesitemapdotted_linedrucken
Layoutbild

Balance

Wieviel Vielfalt verträgt die Organisation?

Ein entscheidendes Kriterium für den Erfolg einer auf Diversity ausgerichteten Organisations- und Personalentwicklung ist die Balance zwischen den Bereichen Vielfalt und Konformität. Kennzeichnend für den Bereich Vielfalt sind Individualität, Kreativität, Andersartigkeit, und für den Bereich Konformität sind es Einheitlichkeit, Anpassung.

Wird in einer Organisation der Bereich Vielfalt überbetont, so beeinträchtigt dies ihren Zusammenhalt und hätte im Extremfall Chaos und Zusammenbruch zur Folge. Jeder würde machen, was er will. Andererseits  – dominiert Konformität in einer Organisation, so wird die Einzigartigkeit und das in ihr vorhandene Innovationspotential unterdrückt, was sich ebenso nachteilig auswirkt.

In einer erfolgreichen Diversity-Politik besteht ein gesundes Spannungsverhältnis, ein dynamisches Gleichgewicht zwischen diesen beiden Bereichen. Wieviel Individualität lassen wir zu, so dass das System nicht auseinanderbricht, und wie weit darf die Anpassungsforderung gehen, dass die Individualität nicht darunter leidet?

Diese Frage stellt sich gerade Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern der öffentlichen Verwaltung, die gegenüber ihrer Klientel nicht nur als Dienstleister, sondern auch als staatliche Autorität auftreten. Aber auch in Wirtschaftsunternehmen besteht diese Herausforderung, und die Kenntnis über dieses dynamische Gleichgewicht wirkt sich positiv auf die Unternehmenskultur aus.

DeT&S fördert das Verständnis für diese Balance, die Orientierung und Sicherheit im Handeln verleiht. Im Hinblick auf Diversity Kompetenz erarbeiten wir gemeinsam, in welchen Bereichen der Organisation ein Minimum an Konformität erforderlich ist und wo der Vielfalt Raum gegeben werden soll, um die Organisation voranzutreiben.

 
stellen Sie hier Ihre Fragen!

Layoutbild

© 2002 – 2016     Dr. Mitra Detweiler     Detweiler Training & Seminars     Platanenweg 9     D - 63303 Dreieich